My Oxford Year

Regular
$28.00
Regular
List-price:
Sale
Sale Price: $28.00
Sold Out
Unit Price
per 
Julia Whelan's performance of her debut novel, the international bestseller My Oxford Year, won a Voice Arts award from SOVAS and landed her on Audible’s Best of the Year list. This bittersweet romcom, though completely fictional, is imbued with Whelan's familiarity and love of both Oxford and poetry, and has become a bit of a cult classic with readers who enjoy having their hearts broken and put back together again.

Major motion picture already in development with Temple Hill Entertainment

Set amid the breathtaking beauty of Oxford, this sparkling debut novel tells the unforgettable story about a determined young woman eager to make her mark in the world and the handsome man who introduces her to an incredible love that will irrevocably alter her future - perfect for fans of JoJo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks.

American Ella Durran has had the same plan for her life since she was 13: study at Oxford. At 24, she’s finally made it to England on a Rhodes Scholarship when she’s offered an unbelievable position in a rising political star’s presidential campaign. With the promise that she’ll work remotely and return to DC at the end of her Oxford year, she’s free to enjoy her Once in a Lifetime Experience. That is until a smart-mouthed local who is too quick with his tongue and his car ruins her shirt and her first day. 

When Ella discovers that her English literature course will be taught by none other than that same local, Jamie Davenport, she thinks for the first time that Oxford might not be all she’s envisioned. But a late-night drink reveals a connection she wasn’t anticipating finding, and what begins as a casual fling soon develops into something much more when Ella learns Jamie has a life-changing secret.

Immediately Ella is faced with a seemingly impossible decision: turn her back on the man she’s falling in love with to follow her political dreams or be there for him during a trial neither is truly prepared for. As the end of her year in Oxford rapidly approaches, Ella must decide if the dreams she’s always wanted are the same ones she’s now yearning for.

“With My Oxford Year, Julia Whelan has crafted a breathtakingly perfect picture of Oxford…a read bursting with warmth, mirth, and heart. A powerfully heartbreaking and life-affirming tribute to love and to choice – to choosing love and an open-hearted approach to the world.”
— Entertainment Weekly, “A” review

“Whelan has created a beautiful, romantic story that focuses on big ideas—love, death, poetry, and what really matters in the end.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Whelan combined the most heart-wrenching and romantic moments of every Jojo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks novel and added in her own touches of humanity and lovableness...Bring your tissues.”
— Travel + Leisure

“This debut novel has a preponderance of heart while offering respite from heady emotions with light wit. Whelan draws from her own Oxford experience, creating a richly rendered setting of not just the university’s spires but of the surrounding chip shops and grubby pubs that are just as vital.”  
— Booklist

“This pull-at-the-heartstrings yet sexy debut novel by Whelan, an award-winning audiobook narrator, is all about the choices we make for ourselves and others. It will delight Anglophiles as well as Jojo Moyes fans.”
— Library Journal

My Oxford Year is a funny, tender, heart-breaking coming-of-age adventure.”
Allison Winn Scotch
New York Times bestselling author

My Oxford Year is an achingly beautiful debut.”
Robinne Lee
Author of The Idea of You

“Full of humor and romance, My Oxford Year has it all — I loved it!”
Jill Shalvis
New York Times bestselling author

Customer Reviews

Based on 3 reviews
100%
(3)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
c
cooper thornton
A glorious listen and novel!

I couldn’t “put it down”. Loved the novel on its own, and thrilled at how much Julia Whelan’s narration brought to the read/listen!

K
Kelly Click
Whelan does it again

Is there nothing Julia Whelan can't do?? This listen was such a joy with all the emotions, all the feels, and accents too. I loved every minute of it.

D
Dave Brenner
Thank you! What a pleasure listening to this book.

This book was wonderful! Such a beautifully written and engaging story that makes you fall in love with the characters. I had been waiting to listen to this book for some time and it was so worth the wait. Julia is a master at evoking such emotions, and I was brought to tears several times. I can't wait for her next book.